WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION 18, SAROJINI NAIDU SARANI (Rawdon Street) KOLKATA – 700 017

Date: 09.01.2014

No. 33(15)-SEC/1E-18/1996

From: The O.S.D. & E.O.

Joint Secretary,

West Bengal State Election Commission

To : 1)District Municipal Election Officer for Kolkata Municipal Corporation & District Magistrate, South 24-Parganas.

2) District Municipal Election Officer & District Magistrate, Cooch Behar / Jalpaiguri / Darjeeling / North 24-Parganas / South 24-Parganas / Howrah / Hooghly / Purba Medinipur / Paschim Medinipur / Burdwan / Purulia / Bankura / Murshidabad / Nadia

Sir,

I am directed to state that the Municipal General Elections to 5(five) Urban Local Bodies and Bye-Elections to 29(twenty nine) Municipal Constituencies (Wards) were held on 22nd November, 2013 by using Electronic Voting Machines (list enclosed).

The time limit for filing election petition challenging the validity of any election is 10(ten) days from the declaration of results in terms of the provision of Section 75 of West Bengal Municipal Elections Act, 1994. More than 1(one) month has already elapsed since the results of the aforementioned Elections were declared.

I am, therefore, directed to request you kindly to erase the memory of all the Electronic Voting Machines used in the said General / Bye Elections for the aforementioned Municipal Corporation/ Municipalities / Notified Area excepting those used for elections to the Constituencies (Wards) which are subject matter of or otherwise related to any suit pending in a court of law. In such cases the erasing of memory of E.V.M.s shall abide by the result of such lawsuit. Number of such EVMs,i.e. those involved in Election petitions may also be informed to us clearly.

I am, further directed to request you to keep the EVMs, after completion of memory erasing process at your disposal until further orders.

You are also requested to inform this office of the present stock position of EVMs which are kept in your custody.

The matter may kindly be treated as urgent.

Yours faithfully,

Sd/
O.S.D. & E.O.
Joint Secretary,
West Bengal State Election Commission

No. 33(15)/1(23)-SEC/1E-18/1996

Copy forwarded for Information and necessary actions to:

- 1. Smt. Soma Shaw, WBCS(Ex.). Municipal Returning Officer for KMC, Ward No.1 & Assistant Election Officer, District Election Office, 63, N.S. Road, Kolkata-700001.
- 2. Sri Tanay Deb Sarkar, WBCS(Ex.), Municipal Returning Officer for KMC, Ward No.24 & Deputy Director, Panchayats & RD, Salt Lake.
- 3. Municipal Returning Officer & Sub-Divisional Officer, Dinhata / Cooch Behar(Sadar) / Mal / Jalpaiguri (Sadar) / Siliguri / Barrackpore / Bidhannagar / Barasat / Alipur (Sadar) / Chandernagar / Raghunathpur / Purulia(Sadar) / Egra / Asansol / Lalbag / Bankura (Sadar) / Howrah(Sadar) / Midnapur(Sadar) / Jhargram / Berhampur(Sadar) / Krishnanagar(Sadar).

Sd/
O.S.D. & E.O.
Joint Secretary,
West Bengal State Election Commission

Date: 09.01.2014