## WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION 18, SAROJINI NAIDU SARANI (Rawdon Street) KOLKATA – 700 017

No. 32(9)-SEC/1E-18/1996

From: The O.S.D. & E.O.

Joint Secretary,

West Bengal State Election Commission

To: The District Municipal Election Officer &

District Magistrate, Cooch Behar / Jalpaiguri / Uttar Dinajpur / Dakshin Dinajpur / Nadia / North 24-Parganas / South 24-Parganas/

Burdwan / Birbhum.

Sir,

I am directed to state that the Municipal General Elections to 12(twelve) Urban Local Bodies were held on 21<sup>st</sup> September, 2013 by using Electronic Voting Machines (list enclosed).

The time limit for filing election petition challenging the validity of any election is 10(ten) days from the declaration of results in terms of the provision of Section 75 of West Bengal Municipal Elections Act, 1994. More than 3(three) months have already elapsed since the results of the aforementioned Elections were declared.

I am, therefore, directed to request you kindly to erase the memory of all the Electronic Voting Machines used in the said General Elections for the aforementioned Municipalities excepting those used for elections to the Constituencies (Wards) which are subject matter of or otherwise related to any suit pending in a court of law. In such cases the erasing of memory of E.V.M.s shall abide by the result of such law-suit. Number of such EVMs,i.e. those involved in Election petitions may also be informed to us clearly.

I am, further directed to request you to keep the EVMs, after completion of memory erasing process at your disposal until further orders.

You are also requested to inform this office of the present stock position of EVMs which are kept in your custody.

The matter may kindly be treated as urgent.

Yours faithfully,

Date: 09.01.2014

Sd/ O.S.D. & E.O. Joint Secretary, West Bengal State Election Commission

Date: 09.01.2014

No. 32(9)/1(10)-SEC/1E-18/1996

Copy forwarded for Information and necessary actions to Municipal Returning Officer & Sub-Divisional Officer, Mekhliganj / Alipurduar / Islampur / Balurghat / Kalyani / Barrackpore / Barasat / Diamond Harbour / Burdwan (Sadar) North / Suri (Sadar).

Sd/
O.S.D. & E.O.Joint Secretary,
West Bengal State Election Commission